"Three Billboards" victorious again at BAFTA Awards

"Three Billboards" victorious again at BAFTA Awards

(L-R): "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" producer Pete Czernin, writer-director
Martin McDonagh and producer Graham Broadbent with their BAFTA Awards trophies.

19 Feb – The 71st British Academy Film Awards, held at the Royal Albert Hall in London, concluded with "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" bagging the most awards.

The drama film, about a mother and her quest to push the police force to solve her daughter's murder by renting three big billboards to catch their attention, previously also won big at noted film awards such as the 75th Golden Globe Awards and the 24th Screen Actors Guild Awards.

This time, it won five awards, including both Best Film and Best British Film, only the second time a British movie (the first being the Oscar-winning "The King's Speech") is able to win both categories ever since the reintroduction of the latter category in 1992.

Director Sir Ridley Scott was honoured with the BAFTA Fellowship, the lifetime achievement award presented by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), while "Get Out" star Daniel Kaluuya, who can currently be seen in "Marvel's Black Panther", has earned himself the EE Rising Star Award, which is voted for by the public.

Below is the full winners list under the film categories of the 2018 BAFTA Awards:

Best Film: "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri", Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh
Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, "The Shape of Water"
Best Leading Actress: Frances McDormand, "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri"
Best Leading Actor: Gary Oldman, "Darkest Hour"
Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney, "I, Tonya"
Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri"
Best Original Screenplay: "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri", Martin McDonagh
Best Adapted Screenplay: "Call Me By Your Name", James Ivory
Best Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer: "I Am Not a Witch", "Rungano Nyoni (Writer/Director), Emily Morgan (Producer)
Best Cinematography: "Blade Runner 2049", Roger Deakins
Best Editing: "Baby Driver", Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss
Best Special Visual Effects: "Blade Runner 2049", Richard R. Hoover, Paul Lambert, Gerd Nefzer, John Nelson
Best Sound: "Dunkirk", Alex Gibson, Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, Mark Weingarten
Best Production Design: "The Shape of Water", Paul Austerberry, Jeff Melvin, Shane Vieau
Best Documentary: "I Am Not Your Negro", Raoul Peck
Best Animated Film: "Coco", Lee Unkrich, Darla K. Anderson
Best Costume Design: "Phantom Thread", Mark Bridges
Best Make Up and Hair: "Darkest Hour", David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, Kazuhiro Tsuji
Best Original Music: "The Shape of Water", Alexandre Desplat
Best Film Not in the English Language: "The Handmaiden", Park Chan-wook, Syd Lim
Best Outstanding British Film: "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri", Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh
Best British Short Film: "Cowboy Dave", Colin O'Toole, Jonas Mortense
Best British Short Animation: "Poles Apart", Paloma Baeza, Ser En Low
Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema: John Wardle, National Film and Television School
BAFTA Fellowship: Ridley Scott
EE Rising Star: Daniel Kaluuya

(Photo source: David Fisher/BAFTA/REX/Shutterstock)

Related Movies:
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (22 Feb 2018)
The Shape Of Water (22 Mar 2018)
Darkest Hour (31 Jan 2018)
Coco (23 Nov 2017)
Blade Runner 2049 (05 Oct 2017)

Dailymotion article page COMY

Related Links: