"Star Wars 7" cast announced

"Star Wars 7" cast announced

Director J.J. Abrams new cast; (L-R) Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Domhnall Gleeson, Oscar Isaac and Andy Serkis.

30 Apr – It is confirmed that the next "Star Wars" film due for 2015 features a mix of new and old cast for the 7th space opera film directed by J.J. Abrams.

The new additions are John Boyega ("Attack The Block"), Daisy Ridley (Mr. Selfridge), Adam Driver ("Girls"), Oscar Isaac ("Inside Llewyn Davis"), Andy Serkis ("Lord Of The Rings"), Domhnall Gleeson ("About Time") and Max von Sydow ("Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close").

The original cast from the 1977 movie who will be joining the cast list is Harrison Ford (Hans Solo), Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia), Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker) as well as the actors who played C-3P0, R2-D2 and Chewbacca; Anthony Daniels, Kenny Baker and Peter Meyhew.

Even composer John Williams who did the score for all six "Star Wars" films will return to create music for the latest film.

Cast read for "Star Wars: Episode 7": Harrison Ford (1), Daisy Ridley (2), Carrie Fisher (3), Peter Mayhew (4), Producer Bryan Burk (5), Lucasfilm President and Producer Kathleen Kennedy (6), Domhnall Gleeson (7), Anthony Daniels (8), Mark Hamill (9), Andy Serkis (10), Oscar Isaac (11), John Boyega (12), Adam Driver (13), Writer Lawrence Kasdan (14) and Director J.J Abrams, (15).

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of "Star Wars: Episode VII," director J.J. Abrams said. "It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

The film is reportedly set 30 years after the events of the 1983 film, "Return Of The Jedi".

The worldwide release date for the film is set for 18 December 2015.

Related Links: